This Year’s Andam Finalists


Now in its 28th year, France’s National Association for the Development of the Fashion Arts—more commonly referred to as the Andam awards—is one of the longest-running mentorship and designer incubator programs in the world. A young Martin Margiela took home the top prize in its founding year of 1989, and this year’s nominees look set for a similarly bright future. Designers Aalto, Koché, Martine Rose, and Y/Project are among those shortlisted for the 2017 Grand Prix—which includes a 250,000 euro lump sump of money in its winning package as well as targeted business and design mentorship.

New designers Avoc, Niuku, and Marine Serre are shortlisted for the awards’ Creative Label Prize, and Ana Khorui, La Contrie, and Le Gramme for its Accessories category. Winners will take home a grant of 100,000 and 50,000 euros respectively. Andam has added an additional fourth category, which is new for this year. The Fashion Innovation Prize will award a 30,000 euro cash prize to one of three brands who utilize cutting-edge technology as part and parcel of their design process. Those nominated for 2017 include Euveka, Percko, and Smartpixels.

In a statement, Andam’s founder and director Nathalie Dufour reflected on the importance of the event in helping talented young designers flourish. “In 1989, I founded Andam to identify and support the emerging talents of the global contemporary fashion scene,” she said. “The strong coordination of our private and institutional sponsors allows Andam to develop a global action and widen its support to all the sectors of the French fashion industry, as shown by the launch of the Andam Fashion Innovation Prize, this year. These prizes offer to young brands growing financial support and mentorship program essential for the structuring and development of their company.”

The 2017 finalists were selected by a jury of 25 prominent figures in fashion, including Yves Saint Laurent’s president and CEO Francesca Bulletini, Chloé president Geoffroy de la Bourdonnaye, and model Caroline de Maigret. The winners will be decided in Paris on June 30th.


prev link:
createdAt:Tue, 23 May 2017 20:41:21 +0000
displayType:Standard Article