Zendaya Named Youngest CFDA Fashion Icon Recipient Of All Time


At this point, there shouldn’t be a doubt in anyone’s mind that Zendaya is a fashion icon. Over the past few years, with the help of famed celebrity stylist Law Roach, the Dune actress has dropped jaws on every red carpet that she’s graced, serving legendary look after legendary look. Now, she will be officially recognized for her flawless rolodex of looks when she receives the CFDA Award for Fashion Icon on November 10. At just 25 years-old, she will be the youngest person on whom the CFDA will bestow this honor, following in the footsteps of other stylish celebs including, Beyoncé, Prince, Lady Gaga, Naomi Campbell, and Rihanna.

Another young actress and Law Roach client in-attendance will be Anya Taylor-Joy, who is receiving the CFDA’s first-ever Face of the Year Award. After starring in popular film and television productions such as, Emma, The Queen’s Gambit, and One Night in Soho, Taylor-Joy has become a red carpet mainstay over the past few years and has not shied away from bold, vibrant, and creative looks.

For his extensive and revolutionary career, Harlem-based designer Dapper Dan will be honored with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. Likewise, the CFDA has selected Elle magazine’s editor-in-chief Nina Garcia for the Media Award and the outdoor clothing giant Patagonia for the Environmental Sustainability Award.

A slew of awards for designers and brands will be awarded on the night of the 2021 CFDA Fashion Awards ceremony, as well. The nominees for American Womenswear Designer of the Year include Catherine Holstein for KHAITE, Christopher John Rogers, Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, and Peter Do. The nominees chosen for American Menswear Designer of the Year are Emily Adams Bode for BODE, Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God, Mike Amiri for AMIRI, Telfar Clemens for Telfar, and Thom Browne.

For American Accessories Designer of the Year, the nominees are Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Gabriela Hearst, Stuart Vevers for Coach, and Telfar Clemens for Telfar. The American Emerging Designer of the Year nominees are Edvin Thompson for Theophilio, Eli Russell Linnetz for ERL, Jameel Mohammed for KHIRY, Kenneth Nicholson, and Maisie Schloss for Maisie Wilen.

Finally, The International Women’s Designer of the Year nominees include the likes of Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta, Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga, Miuccia Prada and Raf Simons for Prada, Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino, and Simon Porte Jacquemus for Jacquemus, while the nominees for International Men’s Designer of the Year are Daniel Lee for Bottega Veneta, Dries Van Noten, Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner, Rick Owens, and Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton.

With its first in-person ceremony since 2019, the CFDA is sure to hold a grand celebration of fashion this year that will further help to solidify the industry’s return to normalcy and honor the contributions of its creatives in an unprecedented time.


prev link: https://www.crfashionbook.com/fashion/a38003379/zendaya-this-years-cfda-fashion-icon/
createdAt:Tue, 19 Oct 2021 15:22:31 +0000
displayType:Long Form Article

Beitrag veröffentlicht